Dragon*Con – Just The Best(er) Party

I can’t review my experience at Dragon*Con 2016 here beyond saying it was awesome. The con itself has left me without the energies to direct in that direction.

Instead, I can just say:
A) Check out my facebook page in the next few weeks for the story told by the picture. As a person who “doesn’t do costumes”, I wore no less than two different costumes, and they were both pretty hardcore. Nonetheless I got mad pics with people whose cosplay made mine look like the mere dabbling it was. One was the girl I brought with me, of course.

B) What I said to everyone I encountered in Atlanta who asked me how my #Nerdigras was: One time when I was 18, I went to just the best party (Dragon*Con ‘o4). Returning for the first time in 12 years, at age 30, old enough to drink and old enough to know better than to drink as much as I did, I can say only this: “just the best party” got even bester.

Appendix A.

One time I went to just the best party.
The music was good. The girls were pretty (and in costume)
The booze flowed and it lasted so long
I had a full time job in another city
I think it was in uh…game publishing!
It evolved as the days went by
It involved no hierarchy
It moved and grew to a pitch so fine
Generally encompassing several hotels at a time
Impressive. Extensive.
Nerds paid the expenses.

Appendix N.

The personal high-point of the con was selling a copy of Psionics to an on-the-job (not active duty) Florida police officer, and then showing him how much XP he was worth in the game.

Twenty.

If you were curious.

Leave a Reply

